Thursday 17 August 2023


From left: Apollo Milton Obote (Uganda), Julius Kambarage Nyerere (Tanzania) and Jomo Kenyatta (Kenya)

On 6th June,1967 in Kampala, Uganda, these leaders of Uganda, Tanzania and Kenya signed the Treaty for the formation of the East African Cooperation (EAC) which came into force on 1st December, 1967.

The EAC had been preceded by a number of organisations including the East African High Commission (1948-1961) and the East African Common Services Organisation (1961-1967).

In 1977, the Community was dissolved and was revived in 1999 with the Treaty for the establishment of the East African Community which was signed in Arusha, Tanzania on 30 November 1999.

The Treaty entered into force on 7 July 2000.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...