Monday 1 April 2024


King of Benin, Oba Ovonramwen on the British yacht HM Ivy on his way to exile in  Esien, Calabar.

Here is my compilation based on my research, might have omitted some or added one or two wrongly :

List of rulers dethroned by the colonial British:

(1). Oba of Benin Ovoranwen Nogbaisi (1888 – 1897)

(2). Emir of Kano Aliyu Ibn Abdullahi Maje Karofi (1903)

(3). Emir of Ningi – Dan Yaya (1902)

(4). Timi of Ede – Abibu Lagunju (1892)

(5). Akarigbo of Remo – Oyebajo (1915)

(6). Alase of Remo, High Chief Awolesi (1916)

(7). Osemawe of Ondo – Oba Adekolurejo Jimosun II (1925)

(8). Oba of Lagos – Ibikunle Akintoye & Kosoko (1845 & 1853)

(9). Emir of Zaria, Malam Muḥammad Kwasau 

(10). Emir of Katsina, Mal. Yero dan Musa

(11). Emir of Bida,  Etsu Abubakar Ma'asaba.

(12). Emir of Gwandu, Mallam Muhammad Aliyu

(13). Emir of Gumel, Mallam Sarki Abubakar

(14). Emir of Kano, Alu

These rulers were dethroned during the colonial period due to various reasons, including conflicts with the British authorities or their allies. Some who were not dethroned, were made warrant chiefs.

Image source: British Museum

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...