Monday 1 April 2024


DID YOU KNOW MOZAMBIQUE HAVE 32 ISLANDS SOME UNINHABITED!  ILHA DE MOÇAMBIQUE is where the Portuguese Vasco da Gama first came ashore.

Island of Mozambique, Portuguese Ilha de Moçambique, small coral island located at the mouth of Mossuril Bay in the Mozambique Channel of the Indian Ocean. It is administered as part of Nampula province, northern Mozambique. Until 1898 the island’s fortified town of Moçambique served as the capital of Portuguese East Africa.

Here is a little history of Mozambique and its Islands some of which are uninhabited:-

Consisting of 32 small islands, including Ibo Island, and stretching 100 km from Pemba to the Rovuma River on the border with Tanzania, Quirimbas Archipelago boasts some of the richest coral reefs in the world and is home to an abundant array of marine life.

The list of the islands of Mozambique lists the islands belonging to the African state of Mozambique , sorted by archipelago , provided that the islands belong to an archipelago.

Angoche (near the city of Angoche)

Bazaruto Archipelago :




St. Carolina (Mosambik)

Island of Mozambique

São Jorge Island


Inhacamba (in the Zambezi Estuary )

Ilha dos Portugueses in the Bay of Maputo


Quirimbas archipelago near the city of Pemba includes about 27 islands, the largest of which are:







Xefina near Maputo

Ilha de Moçambique, or the Island of Mozambique, was used as a harbor and trading center by Arab merchants between the 10th and 15th centuries before Portuguese explorer Vasco da Gama landed on the island in 1498 and claimed it for Portugal

The peoples of early-21st-century Mozambique underwent different historical experiences which, to a certain extent, were homogenized when Portuguese colonialism encompassed the entire territory from the late 19th century onward. However, all of them had common origins, rooted in successive Bantu migrations. These peoples were organized into small chiefdoms based on lineages, but those located in the central region of Mozambique were integrated into states with some level of centralization, created by the Karanga south of the Zambezi and by the Maravi to the north. The interior regions were articulated into mercantile networks with the Indian Ocean through Swahili coastal entrepôts, exporting gold and ivory. From 1505 onward, the Portuguese sought to control this commerce from some settlements along the coast, particularly Mozambique Island, their capital. During the last decades of the 16th century, projects emerged for territorial appropriation in the Zambezi Valley, where a Luso-Afro-Indian Creole society developed. From the mid-18th century onward the slave trade to the Indian and Atlantic Oceans became increasingly important, with different impacts in the respective regions. Modern Portuguese colonialism was established by means of military campaigns: having limited capital, Portugal granted concessions for part of the territory to companies. When these concessions ended in 1942, the colonial state developed a direct administration throughout the territory, headquartered in Lourenço Marques (Maputo). Nationalist ideals developed during the 1950s among various movements, of which three organizations united to form the Mozambique Liberation Front (FRELIMO) in 1962. From 1964 onward, FRELIMO unleashed an anticolonial war in northern and central Mozambique. After the 1974 revolution in Portugal, negotiations resulted in the recognition of Mozambique’s independence on June 25, 1975, and a FRELIMO government. Armed opposition to the Marxist-Leninist government and the civil war continued until 1992. During the 1990s, Mozambique adopted a multiparty system and liberalized its economy. #africa

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...