Saturday 1 January 2022

The Yoruba Calender

Before widespread use of the Gregorian calendar, Yoruba people used a lunar calendar called Kójódá. According to this calendar, the year begins on the third of June and ends on the second of June. This is because June is when new crops began to appear, meaning that there will be food for everyone.

The Yoruba calendar (Kojoda) year starts from 3 June to 2 June of the following year. According to this calendar, the Gregorian year 2022 A. D. is the 10,064th year of Yoruba culture.

The traditional Yoruba week has four days. The 4 days that are dedicated to the Orisa goes as follow:

Day 1 is dedicated to Obatala (Obaluaye/Sopanna, Iyaami, and the Egungun)

Day 2 is dedicated to Orunmila (Esu and Osun)

Day 3 is dedicated to Ogun (Osoosi)

Day 4 is dedicated to Sango (Oya)

To reconcile with the Gregorian calendar, Yoruba people also measure time in seven days a week and four weeks a month. The four day calendar was dedicated to the Orisas and the seven day calendar is for doing business.

Months of the year:

Oṡu in Yoruba calendar Months in Gregorian calendar



ÒGÚN August

OWḖRḖ September

ṐWARO October

BḔLU November

ṐPḖ December

ṠḔRḔ January

ÈRÉLE February


IGBE April


Further historical information will be highly appreciated.

By Wizprodigy

Re: The Yoruba Calender

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...