Monday 18 September 2023


A Tribeswoman

The Nilotic peoples are people indigenous to the Nile Valley who speak Nilotic languages. They inhabit South Sudan, Sudan, Egypt, Ethiopia, Uganda, Kenya, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Burundi and Tanzania. Among these are the Burun-speaking peoples, Karo peoples, Luo peoples, Ateker peoples, Kalenjin peoples, Datooga, Dinka, Nuer, Atwot, Lotuko, and the Maa-speaking peoples.

Linguistically, Nilotic people are divided into three subgroups:

Eastern Nilotic – Spoken by Nilotic populations in southwestern Ethiopia, eastern South Sudan, northeastern Uganda, western Kenya, and northern Tanzania, it includes languages such as Turkana and Maasai.

• Bari

• Teso–Lotuko–Maa

Southern Nilotic – Spoken by Nilotic populations in western Kenya, northern Tanzania, and eastern Uganda, it includes Kalenjin and Datog.

• Kalenjin

• Omotik-Datooga

Western Nilotic – Spoken by Nilotic populations in South Sudan, Sudan, northeastern Congo (DRC), northern Uganda, southwestern Kenya, northern Tanzania, and southwestern Ethiopia, it includes the Dinka-Nuer languages, Luo languages, and the Burun languages.

• Dinka–Nuer-Atwot

• Luo languages

• Burun languages

Nilotic developed from an older language called Nilo Saharan which split in East Africa into Protoafroasiatic around 16,000 years ago and Nilotic.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...