Tuesday 5 September 2023


Ivory Coast is a West African country, populated with nearly 29 million people. It is split into 12 districts and 2 “district level” autonomous cities. The autonomous cities are Abidjan and Yamoussoukro. Yamoussoukro is the official capital while Abidjan is the financial capital.

Yamoussoukro is the site of the largest Christian church in the world: The Basilica of Our Lady of Peace, consecrated by Pope John Paul II on 10 September 1990.

Yamoussoukro also has other interesting achievements of architecture such as the schools of the Félix Houphouët-Boigny National Polytechnic Institute, Kossou Dam, and the PDCI-RDA House.

The capital has an international airport, football stadium, tennis complex and basketball court.

About 5 million Ivorians live in Abidjan, 210,000 at Yamoussoukro, and the remaining population live in the 12 districts.

Abidjan and the capital are among the top 10 largest cities. The other eight cities range in population size from 110,000 up to 540,000.

78 languages are spoken in the Ivory Coast. The top five macroethnic groups are the Akan (42.1%), Voltaiques or Gur (17.6%), Northern Mandés (16.5%), Kru-speaking peoples (11%), and Southern Mandés (10%); which altogether make up 97% the country. Each of these categories is subdivided into different ethnicities. For example, the Akan grouping includes the Baoulé, the Voltaique category includes the Senufo, the Northern Mande category includes the Dioula and the Maninka, the Kru category includes the Bété and the Kru, and the Southern Mande category includes the Yacouba.

Along the Atlantic coast are the following cities from west to east: Bas-Sassandra, Gôh-Djiboua, Lagunes, Abidjan and Comoé.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...