Wednesday 5 April 2023


IICC now known as Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) of Ibadan won the African Cup Winners Cup in 1976, posing with the trophy; Captain Ojebode, behind him; Joseph "Jossy Lad" Ladipo, in the middle; Aláàfin Oyo, Ọba Lamidi Olayiwola Adeyemi III, Muda Lawal and the Club's Executive Director and facilitator, Chief Ọlálékan Salami.

In the first round IICC defeated the Kenya Breweries 5-0 home and away, followed by a 4-3 win over Rokana United of Zambia in the quarterfinals.

After a disappointing 2-0 lost to Zamalek in Egypt in the semifinal first leg, the team played their heart out at the Liberty Stadium, ring road, Ibadan, after 90 minutes the match ended 2-2 on aggregate, they went on to flog the Egyptian giant 5-3 in the penalty shoot-out.

The final against Tonnerre Yaounde was a cruise as the team trashed their Cameroonian counterpart 4-1 to claim Nigeria's first African club trophy.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...