Friday 20 December 2019

What Is The Capital Of Paraguay?

Palacio de López in Asunción is is a palace that
serves as a workplace for the President of Paraguay.
Asunción, located on the left bank of the Paraguay River, is the capital and the largest city of Paraguay.

Paraguay is a landlocked country found in South America. The capital of Paraguay is Nuestra Señora Santa María de la Asunción, more commonly known as Asunción. Argentina borders the country to the south, Brazil to the northeast and east, and Bolivia to the northwest. Paraguay is often fondly called the "Heart of South America” due to its central location in the continent. The country is physically divided into two parts by the Paraguay River that runs centrally through the country.

What Type Of Government Does Paraguay Have?

Paraguay is a presidential representative democratic republic. According to the Constitution of Paraguay, the country is governed by the three branches of power: executive, legislative, and judicial. The President is the head of the executive branch of Paraguay’s government. The two National Congress chambers wield the legislative power of the government, The judiciary is independent of the former two branches and exercises its powers via the nine-member Supreme Court of Justice, Tribunals, and Courts of Civil Law.

What Is The Capital Of Paraguay And Where Is It Located?

The capital city of Paraguay has quite a long name Nuestra Señora Santa María de la Asunción. In short known as Asunción, it is also the largest city in the country. The city is located on the left bank of the Paraguay River. More precisely, Asunción lies near the confluence of the Paraguay River with the River Pilcomayo. The city is separated from Argentina and the Occidental Region of Paraguay by the Bay of Asunción and the Paraguay River in northwest and south. The Central Department of Paraguay surrounds the city in other directions.

History Of The Capital Of Paraguay

Asunción has a long history and is regarded as one of South America’s oldest cities. The capital of Paraguay is also known as the "Mother of Cities” since it is the longest continually inhabited city in the entire Rio de la Plata basin. The Spanish conqueror, Spanish conqueror Juan de Ayolas was reported to be the first European to visit the site that is now Asunción. Later, two other Spanish explorers were sent to find Ayolas who had become untraceable. One among the two, Juan de Salazar y Espinosa, arrived at the site where the capital city of Paraguay now stands. Finding the natives to be friendly, he decided to set up a fort in the city. Asunción then served as the base for the European expedition and military teams that would conquer the surrounding lands.

After the natives destroyed Buenos Aires in 1542, the Spaniards fled to Asunción, leading to the establishment of the city as the center of a large Spanish colonial province. After the independence of Paraguay in 1811, Asunción served as the capital of Paraguay and underwent a series of progressive developmental changes. The Paraguayan War that lasted for five years, however, ushered in massive death and destruction of the city and its growth became stagnant for decades. Brazilian troops occupied the city till 1876. Gradually, the city made a recovery, and a flow of immigrants from the Ottoman Empire and Europe took place.

Important Government Buildings In The Capital Of Paraguay

Palacio de López (Spanish for Palace of the López) is a palace in Asunción, Paraguay, that serves as a workplace for the President of Paraguay, and is also the seat of the government of Paraguay. The Supreme Court of Justice of Paraguay meets at the Palace of Justice in Asuncion.

By Oishimaya Sent Nag

•culled from

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...